Montgomery Central High School Earned Point of Pride Recognition from Clarksville Montgomery County School System School Board

Submitted by: SAI: CSM (R) James Manning
Photos by: Annette Ostrom and Cadet/ Major Mia Webster

Selected members of the Montgomery Central High School (MCHS) JROTC Drill team earned a Point of Pride recognition from the CMCSS School Board on May 17, 2023.

MCHS participated in the All Army and All Service National Drill Championships from May 5, 2023 to May 7, 2023 held in Daytona Florida. Over 5,000 Junior Reserve Officer’s Training Corps (JROTC) cadets showed up to test themselves against the best JROTC high schools in the country. At the end of the long 3-day drill competition, MCHS walked away as the National Champions in Armed Color Guard. The members of the Division three National Champions are Ethan Herring (senior), Daniel Budde (junior), Sean DeBien (junior), and Kyle Heath (sophomore).

The Drill team is made up of the Chief’s Guard (all female unarmed drill team) and the Warrior’s Guard (mixed armed drill team). The Unarmed earned a 3rd place overall team finish, coming short of the team National Championship by sixty-six points. This was the second year in a row participating in the event with a large portion of the drill team competing for the first time. When the dust settled, MCHS Drill team finished 4th in the Nation in armed color guard at the All Army nationals. The team also finished 1st in armed color guard, 3rd in unarmed color guard, 4th in unarmed inspection, and 4th in unarmed exhibition at the All Service national championships as they competed against teams from the different services.

The members of the MCHS JROTC drill team are CSM James Manning (coach / instructor), Jubilee Ashford, Emma Bierman, Ray Black, Daniel Budde, Omelia Cage, Gracie Carman, Shaun DeBien, Abigail Epps, Ella Galassi, Kyle Heath, Ethan Herring, Amileishka, Jimenez Plaza, Lewis Lastik, Camryn Lord, Anderson Lowe, Gage McMains, Jessica Mooney, Alaiha-Victoria Santana Rivera, Myla Smith, Kamara Smith, Emilee Thill, Kalena Towe, Ivy Tubbs, Carmella Vittetoe, and Mia Webster.

Who: Armed and Unarmed Color Guard
What: Point of Pride Recognition
When: May 16, 2023
Where: Clarksville Montgomery County School System Central Office
Photo Credit: Cadet/ Major Mia Webster
Who: Montgomery Central JROTC Drill Team 
What: All Service National Drill Championships
When: May 7, 2023
Where: Ocean Center Daytona Beach Florida
Photo Credit: Annette Ostrom